Day 8:

Step #3 - Generating Traffic to Your Website
The Pay Per Click Methodology

"A discovery is said to be an accident meeting a prepared mind."

-Albert Szent-Gyorgyi (1893 - 1986)


Here is the number one question that I receive regarding Affiliate Marketing:

"What are the best ways to get high-quality traffic to my website at the lowest cost?"

Traffic is vital to any Internet business. No matter how high your squeeze page conversion rate is, and no matter how good your product is, you won't be able to build a list or make any sales without traffic.

However, be careful not to get too carried away with traffic generation. Once you start to get traffic to your site you need to focus on improving your visitor-experience rather than getting more traffic.

After a while you will have perfected your website as much as possible, and that is when you can focus more on generating even more traffic.

This should NOT be the focus until after at least the first few months.

You are about to learn EXACTLY what I do to generate traffic

I am not going to share any theories of what should work or a technique that I read in some e-book. Everything contained in the next few lessons are from my own experiences.

I prefer to remain inside my own experiences so that I don't waste your time.

The Pay-Per-Click Methodology

The first source of traffic is my least favorite, but is usually the best when you are just starting. It is Pay-Per-Click (PPC).

The name says it all - you pay for every click-through to your website.

The biggest providers of this service are Google and Yahoo:

Google Adwords
Yahoo Search Marketing

I am going to focus on Google in this lesson as it is the biggest PPC search engine.

I use Google when I first create a website as it is an easy and quick way to get traffic to your site. The only downside is the cost, which can be quite high if you aren't careful.

However, if you keep track of your conversion rates you can make sure that you are spending less than you are making.

For example, if you sell an e-book for $50 and are paying $0.50 per click to get visitors there, you need to make at least one sale for every 100 visitors just to break even (100 x $0.50 = $50). If you are making more than one sale per 100 visitors then your are making a profit.

At first it will be hard to tell if you are making a profit as you might not have anything to sell. If you are just running the Ask email campaign then you might be wondering how much you should spend to get started.

I would say a healthy amount to pay per subscriber is anywhere below $2 to $3. So if you are paying $0.50 per click then you should aim for a 15% conversion rate (15% will give you 1 subscriber for every 6 visitors, or in other words, for every $3 that you spend).

Obviously if you pay less per click you will pay even less per visitor, but concentrate more on raising your conversion rates rather than lowering your cost-per-click (CPC), as this should be your long-term goal.

Google Adwords Video

I will typically use both Google Adwords along with other less expensive and free methods.

Of course if you start promoting or selling products and you notice that you are making a profit with Google Adwords, then there is no reason to stop using them at all.

While we believe that most - if not all - people should eventually learn at least the basics of PPC marketing, we do not believe most people should START with it. Instead we recommend a process called Bootstrapping Your Business which allows you to learn important skills while building up an adequate amount of cash to start learning PPC without the anxiety that hurt your chances of success.

However, if you are interested in starting into PPC there is a system that we recommend as a low-risk and better alternative to the popular PPC training site WealthyAffiliate here.

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(This Expert-Selected Content is Reprinted with Permission and Edited by WorkAtHomeTruth)