NewYorkMinuteNews.com has a strange take on disclaimers

5

Apparently the fake news site NewYorkMinuteNews.com operates under the precept that as long as you have a disclaimer on your site you can do whatever the he** you want.

NewYorkMinuteNews.com provides the following disclaimer at the top if it's site:

"This publication is an article advertisement for Google Money Master."

And then goes on to make the bold statement – a.k.a "a lie" that:

"Google created this tool called Google Money Masters and those that learn this system, within days start making an incrediable income."

Maybe mispelling the word "incredible" as "incrediable" is part of their disclaimer. ;-)

But the big lie is that Google did NOT create a tool called Google Money Masters, although I have to give NewYorkMinuteNews.com credit for going beyond implying a connection with Google and outright lying it's bu** off and claiming that Google created Google Money Masters. LOL!

Sorry, I just can't stop shaking my head.

What other lies can we tell once we have a disclaimer up?

Now of course having a disclaimer up doesn't mean you can just do anything you want in your sales message, but apparently NewYorkMinuteNews.com doesn't play by the "old rules".

For example they state:

'Below is an excerpt from one site.

"Basically I actually make around $5,500 to $7,000 a month from Google. Not a ton of money. But, very solid and good. I was able to replace my previous job's income, working less than 10 hours a week on my computer at home." – Kevin H."'

Of course anyone who's been around the Make Money Posting Links on Google scam for any amount of time knows that Kevin H. refers to the infamous Kevin Hoeffer, a fictional character of questionable reputation (that's kind of an odd statement itself…LOL).

In fact he's apparently so disreputable that he's getting kicked off his own sites!

  • KevinGetsSecurity.com is now features the fictional character David Anderson in place of Kevin Hoeffer
  • KevinsMoneyBlog.com now features the fictional character Kevin Steinbach who apparently has a much better method than the rest since he says "I'M ONLY 24 BUT I MAKE AT LEAST $20,000 a Month Posting Links on Google, Doing Almost NOTHING!" I mean who wants those OTHER systems that claim you can make $5,000/month posting "a link" on Google when Kevin Steinbach states he is doing almost NOTHING and making $20,000/month!?
  • KevinGetsTheGreen.com now redirects to EricMakesTheMoney.com

So much for NewYorkMinuteNews.com's "Kevin H." reference.

What else can we "learn" from NewYorkMinuteNews.com?

Well, apparently different people live in the "online world" than live in the "real world" since NewYorkMinuteNews.com states:

"With more time on their hands, many New Yorkers (And people in Canada and the United Kingdom) are getting creative and turning to the online world for help."

I suppose you could make the argument that different people live in the "online world", but I'll leave that up to the socialologists to decide. Also, maybe they can tell us what this new definition of "help" is in the "online world".

Apparently all rules of spelling also go out the window in the "online world"

Here are few choice "exapmles" of the new rules of spelling in the "online world" of NewYorkMinuteNews.com:

  • "It has become common 'knowldege' of people doing well for themselves on the internet"
  • "within days start making an 'incrediable' income"
  • "Easy 'Goggle' Profits does work"
  • "I'm sure 'your' smart, Like Me"

If I'm so "smart", why am I so "average"?

On the one hand NewYorkMinuteNews tells me, "any average individual, even You can start making a decent income online".

But just 3 short paragraphs later I'm told, "I'm sure your smart, Like Me".

Hopefully I'm smart enough not to believe all the "hype"

Speaking of "hype"…can someone explain NewYorkMinuteNews' use of quotation marks in the following example:

"…all of us have received an email promoting the idea of a multi-million dollar fortune only if we help some member of the Royal Nigerian Family. However,  Google Money Master does not appear to get caught up in this 'hype'."

Is NewYorkMinuteNews telling us the Nigerian 419 scams are NOT hype? I'm so "confused" "now".

Who are "they" anyhow?

Towards the end of the "news" "article" is the statement, "All you have to do to get started is pay around $2.00 to have this Google Kit shipped to you. Their website also states that 'Satisfaction is 100% Guaranteed'".

But who are "they"? The sales process at NewYorkMinuteNews goes something like this:

First I'm told, "Google created this tool called Google Money Masters and those that learn this system, within days start making an incrediable income."

Later I'm told, "Easy Goggle Profits does work"

Then at the end of the "article" is a link to "Google Money Masters official site"

Next I click on the Google Money Masters link takes me to ProfitCenterLearning.com which tells me at the bottom of the page that, "*Google™ does not endorse or sponsor this site and is in no way affiliated with FastCash using Google" and also tells me in the Terms and Conditions, "By submitting an order, You automatically receive a 7-day trial to the Start Up Kit Using Google".

Oh, and just when I thought it couldn't get any stranger, I noticed that the Terms and Conditions on the ProfitCenterLearning.com site tell me that I'm agreeing to Terms and Conditions on a completely DIFFERENT site called ProfitStudioLearning.com:

ProfitCenterLearning.com terms
ProfitCenterLearning.com terms

although we are in the new rules of the "online world", aren't we? "Aer'nt" we?

Related:

Comments on NewYorkMinuteNews.com has a strange take on disclaimers Leave a Comment

August 15, 2009

Andy
5:47 pm #

Enjoyed reading your post Paul and had a look at the site in question. It appears to be experiencing some problems with it's links at the moment which might well be something to with the disclaimer etc that you've highlighted.

August 19, 2009

I hope I will be the next Kevin Hoeffer.hehehe!Thanks for your information.

August 26, 2009

Stacy
1:54 pm #

Yeah I got this as a pop-up and I immediately thought something was strange. After doing a Google search I discovered this is a pure scam and this guy is up to no good.

August 27, 2009

Chuck
3:28 am #

I'm the special case, that burdened with financial stress forgot all about the fine print. Cancelled the account, still have to cancel the subscription… Hilarious. $3 mistake is manageable, $80 mistake is pathetic…

Leave a Comment

Subscribe without commenting

Login
Privacy Policy | About Us | Contact | Terms | Earnings Disclaimer | Disclosure