Scammers using my name?
I just got a very disturbing unsubscribe message that stated:
"Please don't send me anymore emails. Why? I just learned that Paul is involved in a scam business that is cheating those of us who have trusted and believed in him. Too bad. I'm disappointed."
Obviously this isn't true and obviously it's alarming.
It appears that one of the email addresses used in the scam was Mystery.shopper@sify.com although there may be others. Emails from http://mail.sify.com/ - which is an Indian email provider seem to be commonly used in these scams as you can see here:
Scams Using Sify.com Email Addresses
In fact one commenter in this discussion stated:
"A complaint to abuse at sifycorp.com bounced today with something "Over
quota"… After abuse at sify.com seems not to accept complaints via
Gmail since months. They did before, and ever so often I even received
feedback that they terminated accounts of Nigerian spammers."
It appears I'm in good company though, because the SAME sort of thing happened at the great site WhyDoWork as discussed here:
Beware of Data Entry Scammers Pretending to Work Here
Matt from WhyDoWork cautioned, "As we are probably the largest legitimate work at home job search engine on the web, it can be easy to believe the posting. I’m glad five people came forward to let us know of the scam. I’m hoping no one got taken in by it."
If you are aware of any scammers or scam that is using my name or the WorkAtHomeTruth site name please let me know about it here.
Thank you.
Leave a Comment


Comments on Scammers using my name?
8:01 pm
I hate that this has happened to others. I reported my scam artist to the FTC and BBB. I do want a job at home, however I am nervous about trying out the top 10 places to work at home. That is obviously how my scammer found me. I thought they were with you. They led me to believe this. I have a chemistry degree with a minor in biology. Right now I have some debt that my unemployment is not enough. I would like to have a good job and I am not looking to get rich. I know that you are legitimate.
8:26 pm
@Pat Kines:
Thanks, Pat
Needless to say it was very disturbing.
If you're looking for a telecommuting position or home job, the Top 10 list wouldn't really be the place as that is focused on home businesses.
You might want to start with the
Telecommuting Tool along with following The Rules here
Can you elaborate on this comment:
"I am nervous about trying out the top 10 places to work at home. That is obviously how my scammer found me"
I checked all of the links from the Top 10 page and all of them still go to legitimate sites.
However, I'd like to know more about what happened.
Thanks in advance.
1:30 pm
Hi Paul,
I received an email from someone using the @sify.com offering me a job as an Accounts Receivable/Payable Clerk at (ANDREW ARTIST LIMITED). It basically involves me receiving payment from customers, then forwarding the money less 10%, which is my payment for the processing the transaction.
Thanks for the heads up about the fraudulent email address. I didn't respond because it sounded like a scam.