ReadWriteWeb recently ran a post called “Facebook Wants to Be Your One True Login” which apparently attracted a lot of people that mysteriously believed that ReadWriteWeb was suddenly FaceBook itself…despite two obvious pieces of evidence to the contrary:
- A gigantic ReadWriteWeb logo at the top of the page.
- A little thing called an ADDRESS BAR which had readwriteweb.com in it
It got so bad that ReadWriteWeb had to put a huge message at the top of the screen stating:
“Dear visitors from Google. This site is not Facebook. This is a website called ReadWriteWeb that reports on news about Facebook and other Internet services.”
And also included the following helpful “tip”:
“For future reference, type “facebook.com” into your browser address bar or enter “facebook” into Google and click on the first result. We recommend that you then save Facebook as a bookmark in your browser.”
A friend of mine thought this was the funniest thing he’d ever seen and demanded I view it immediately.
What he didn’t know was how much me and many OTHER websites reporting on internet scams have already experienced this phenomenon.
We get people demanding refunds from us on products we are WARNING them about at an alarming rate…in other words the fact that MANY people DO NOT READ carefully at all while online is OLD NEWS to us.
I get emails and posts on the blog on a regular basis from people stating things like:
“IMMEDIATELY CANCEL MY MEMBERSHIP.
ANY ATTEMPS ON YOUR PART TO CHARGE MY CREDIT CARD WILL RESULT IN CRIMINAL CHARGES BEING FILED”
To which I respond:
“You’re writing to the wrong website.
You’re writing to a site that WARNS
people about scams and helps them
recover money.
What product are you talking about. Maybe
I can help you figure out what to do to get
your money back.
Paul Schlegel
Founder, WorkAtHomeTruth.com”
The site at IveTriedThat has experienced the same phenomenon and wrote an entire post about it here:
We are not running a Google scam. You’re currently reading IveTriedThat.
In which they go on to explain:
“That’s right. People are landing on our website, reading our warnings to not give any money or information to these scammers, then they somehow are lead to believe that we are the ones operating these websites. How? I honestly have no idea. Maybe it was this line that was causing confusion: “Don’t do business with Google Treasure Chest and most certainly do not give them your private information.”
Or how about the parody site MakeMoneyPostingALinkOnGoogle.com which is OBVIOUSLY a parody site since the Kevin Hoeffner at the site claims that he made 10 BILLION Dollars Posting A Link On Google…but STILL received the following comments:
“Joey here…Why do you promote such scams like this…You and Kevin are such scumbags. (You can see Kevin’s website @ http://www.blogspersonal.com/?1=pt&2=clks&3=1222#), which has similar information regarding Google.
ALL OF THIS IS A SCAM….DON’T DO IT. THEY WILL STEAL YOUR LIFE FORTUNE…..THOUSANDS AND THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS….”
By the way, is there a corollation between people who don’t pay attention online and those who type in GIGANTIC ALL-CAPS?
Anyhow, a few final tips…
Right now you are on the site WorkAtHomeTruth. Here are a few ways you can tell:
It SAYS SO in the Address Bar:
It SAYS SO in GIGANTIC letters at the top of the site:
Anyhow, thanks for visiting ReadWriteWeb.
